Trudging Along … An Annual Length Update

My biggest hurdle in the last year has been keeping my hair hydrated. (The struggle is real!) The year-round humidity I have to constantly battle has been brutal. Even in the height of winter, where I live, humidity can be in the mid 90s! Although I edged past shoulder length a while ago, the discovery that I live in a hard (to very hard) water area, has been enlightening, to say the least. For instance, it has at least armed me with the necessary information to understand why I experienced so many single strand knots (SSKs), dry ends (regardless of daily moisturizing), and hair breakage (despite a commitment to only using direct heat on my hair twice or thrice a year, max).

The moral of this story? If you are experiencing stunted hair growth, investigate, investigate, investigate! It could be that you need to change your products or alter your hair care routine. Or, it might be due to something completely out of your control, like hard water. But, even if you do have to dance around your local tap water, there are still viable options available to you. I’ve purchased a new shampoo and conditioner combo (review coming soon)! I have also recently started re-utilizing the GHE method. In the meantime, after multiple trims in the last year due to severe tangles, here’s where I currently stand …

 

FRONT

15″ (shortest strand) – 15.5″ (longest strand)

SIDES

13″

CROWN 

15″ (shortest strand) – 16″ (longest strand)

BACK 

11.0″ (shortest strand) – 12″ (longest strand)

I experienced quite a bit of breakage due to the hard water in my area. As a result, I also had to trim my hair excessively (more than normal) to prevent additional damage. So, I was basically only able to maintain my length from last year, which means, essentially, I broke even … no loss … no gain … I just maintained my length all over.

2 Comments

Filed under Length Checks

2 responses to “Trudging Along … An Annual Length Update

  1. Pingback: Hard Water Solution: Waterpik Universal Shower Filter | Relaxed. Transitioning. Natural. Beautiful.

  2. Pingback: My New Hard Water Hair Care Routine | Relaxed. Transitioning. Natural. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

