Hair Update

The past few years have been ones of change: becoming an aunt and godmother … moving across the U.S. from the Great Northwest to Alabama … making the decision to start a healthy hair journey … attending graduate school to get an advanced degree … In the last 12 months, between working 20 hours a week and attending grad school full time, I haven’t had time to have much of a social life yet alone the energy to focus on my hair. In fact, I’ve been so busy with research papers, group presentations, homework, quizzes, exams, and team projects that I completely missed my two-year naturalversary in February this year (3 months ago)! I’m somewhat ashamed to admit that I have almost completely neglected my hair as a result of my insane schedule.

Honestly, I didn’t expect any hair growth in the last year. In fact, I half-expected a major setback. But, thankfully, I didn’t experience any hair breakage. I think my major saving grace is that I have worn low-manipulation hairstyles and rarely used heat on my hair (e.g., I flat-ironed my hair for the first time in nine months last week). While I didn’t have the raging success of retaining 6.5″ of 7.5″ of hair growth like I did in my first year of being natural, the point of this story is that I did retain SOMETHING. So, here is a mini length check (after a much-needed trim) …

FRONT

15″ = retained 3.0″ of hair growth

SIDES

12.5″ (shortest strand) – 13″ (longest strand) = retained 2.5″ – 3.0″ of my hair growth

CROWN 

15.5″ (shortest strand) – 16″ (longest strand) = retained 1.5″ – 2.0″ of my hair growth

BACK 

12.0″ (shortest strand) – 12.5″ (longest strand) = retained 3.0″ of my hair growth

While it is crazy difficult for me to stick to a hair regimen these days, given the daily demands on my time, my plan of attack is to simplify by finding ways to streamline my hair routine and get back to basics by making sure my hair stays fully hydrated at all times. But, with summer heat and humidity having already arrived to Alabama, I’m going to have to be vigilant!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Length Checks

Leave a Reply

