The Inversion Method for Natural Hair: My 1-Week Results

Caution Border Pale Pink  Before Attempting the Inversion Method,

  Read My First Post Describing the Method

HERE Caution Border Pale Pink

When: Saturday, August 31, 2013 – Friday, September 6, 2013
Oil Used: Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Length of Massage: 4 minutes
Length of Inversion: 4 minutes
Frequency: 7 consecutive days
Inversion Position: Laid on bed with chest and head hanging off bed (toward floor) with hands on floor for support.*
Starting Length: 6.50″
Ending Length: 7.00″**

I started the inversion method on Saturday night (August 31). I warmed extra virgin olive oil in a cup of hot water. (I do not recommend heating the oil in the microwave as it will likely destroy most of the health properties.) Then, I divided my head into four quadrants and massaged each quadrant for one minute (my whole head for a total of four minutes). After that, I laid on my bed and inverted my chest and head toward the floor, using my hands for support. * Please note that the inversion position I used is considered controversial as some others have experienced extreme discomfort in this position. However,  this position FOR ME was very comfortable. In fact, I experienced more unease (chest pain) in another position where I sat in a chair and inverted my head as if painting my toes. 

After inverting, I GHEd and then went to bed. I repeated this for three consecutive days. On day four, my hair was very saturated (from the oil), so I cowashed. Then, I continued the rest of the inversion routine.

My starting hair length was 6.50″. I only took pictures of the front and side because it was extremely difficult to take pictures of myself while accurately holding a tape measure.

** This ended up being foretelling because the front of my hair and the sides of my hair are the only areas that grew (0.50″). The top crown of my head and the back of my head (nape area) didn’t increase in length at all. My ending length? Seven inches!

However, considering about half of my head received a half-inch of growth in only seven days, I think the inversion method is pretty miraculous! The only con is that this method uses quite a bit of oil, but considering the results, if you have enough oil on hand, it is worth adding into the arsenal of your healthy hair regimen.

10 Comments

Filed under Hair Regimens, Length Checks

10 responses to “The Inversion Method for Natural Hair: My 1-Week Results

  1. Julie

    What is co-wash?

  2. Bethany Cole

    So do I do this inversion treatment once a week or like more than 1 day, and am I able to oil my scalp more than once a week

  3. Arina Reabaia

    I tried this twice and didn’t get any growth. Could it be because I am working out 5 times a week, then my blood flow on my head already “runs” and opens up for the natural oils in my hair? I don’t see any other reasons why I don’t get results of the inversion method, because then my hair is already used to the blood flow.

    • Yes, I definitely think that is a possibility. For the last 6 months, I’ve been working out 40-60 minutes a day, 6 days a week. And, I’ve noticed this method no longer works for me either! Also, if your hair growth rate is already at its maximum, this method will not work. :(

  4. Lexi

    Can you use a serum?

    • Yes, if you like. But, if this is your first time using the inversion method, I would recommend doing everything the way it was intended before you make any modifications. That way, you will have a base from which to measure any deviations you decide to take in the future.

  5. Pingback: The Inversion Method for Hair: Grow an Inch of Hair in 7 Days? | Relaxed. Transitioning. Natural. Beautiful.

  6. Pingback: Will the Inversion Method Work without a Scalp Massage and Oil? | Relaxed. Transitioning. Natural. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

